To Speak

I have decided to publish my past and future poems to this tag, accompanied by a picture I think will give it (sub)context. I’m hoping for feedback and to spark conversation about each poem’s topic, as they’re clearly important to me. Sending good vibes and art out into the world. Please share your thoughts and inspirations with me in return. 

TO SPEAK

Some defend us
Saying even their deaf
Can communicate without words
But they still believe
Despite the evidence
That we’re the lesser
Most of all
Because we do not
Use unspoken signs
That they call letters
They think it means
We have no language
Forgetting that our bodies
Contain all the symbols
Ever needed

 

Leave a Reply

