Night Flower: The Life and Art of Vali Myers was very beautiful

A pretty little book filled with art that seemed familiar, yet I didn’t know the name Vali Myers until this post on the reading recommendations of Florence Welch.

Filled with essays from others about her, her art, and pages from her diaries, you get a glimpse as to what kind of artist and person she was. Which was good, because I had never heard of her before.

Her art, though entirely her own, reminds me of Frida Kahlo’s work – exposed breasts, intricate scenes threaded together to tell a story, self-portraits. To me her art is much easier to relate to than Frida’s, due to the animal imagery, fewer fetuses depicted (not as natalist), and the diaries that remind me of my own habits.

Her work titled Wu Man stood out to me:

Though this book was fun, I don’t feel like I really know that much more about Vali Meyers, though. There is still a mystery to her that I doubt will ever be solved.

Leave a Reply

