Book Review: The Extraordinary Adventures of Adele Blanc-sec

So, I watched the film and loved it (it’s like the French version of Indian Jones with a dash of the Mummy).

The book of the comic strips was not as good as I had hoped, but I’m chucking it up to the translation and time period. I found that their expressions stayed the same, the men were hard to tell apart at times, and the pacing was a bit off–scattered and hard to follow. The film greatly improved these things.

20160927_112901

Expressions are the same no matter what they are saying. Maybe eyebrows change.

There was also a lot of nudity in the book. Which, I guess isn’t so shocking because it is French.  It was just jarring given the context.  20160927_112904

20160913_133805

I was able to Inter-Library Loan the copy. I probably won’t be reading the second volume because meh. But it still gave me  thrill to think I was reading something obscure and rare.

Go watch the movie and report back to me!

Leave a Reply

