2015, The Year of Mediocrity: A List

I hate being so negative, but 2015 will be the year I was disappointed. Everything I was looking forward to (entertainment-wise) was a total let down. Here’s the list.

1. The Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them trailer.

The pictures EW released got me all excited. I was really looking forward to when the trailer would finally be released. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still excited to see the movie AS SOON AS IT COMES OUT. But I’m not getting my hopes up that this is going to blow my mind. A beast gets loose? OK. How are we going to spend three movies dragging this out? Not to mention my inner veg/animal-rights voice screaming “He stuffs them in his suitcase zoo! Against their will!” I’m conflicted.

 

Also, I’m not even going to link to the trailer here. It’s not really worth watching.

2. Star Wars: The Force Awakens. I literally think I’m going crazy. What is with all the group-think love surrounding this movie? I don’t particularly like what Lucas did to his own franchise when he was in charge of it. But at least the plot still made sense with him. I’m not even that big of a Star Wars fan. It just scares me that recycled plot lines (that were still functioning well in their original roles) can get that much attention and acclaim. It makes me afraid for all the other stories I love. Sure, they work (kind of not really). But it’s lazy. It’s boring.

3. The Philosopher Kings by Jo Walton. I won’t go into the reasons why again.

4. The Hateful Eight. Besides being LIED to that it was supposed to come out on Christmas (WHERE, Tarantino?!?!) I just watched it last night and was kind of disappointed. I didn’t hate it. It just didn’t turn out to be what I was expecting (though I’m not sure what I was expecting). The movie did play with my emotions well, though (lots of nervous laughter and shame at the racist, sexist, gory things playing out on screen). But it had a lot of recycled QT tropes that just felt more lazy than revamped. But all well. He’s proved his point, I guess–that they’re his “things” and he’s “used” them to the death and so no one else will even bother to. Good job.

So, my most anticipated things turned out to be average. I’m left unimpressed. HOWEVER that’s not to say I didn’t have a few other surprises along the way. See next post!

Leave a Reply

