The Magician’s Land, by Lev Grossman

Thrice Told

The Magician's Land (The Magicians, #3)The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I’m offended. I really am. I actually take pride in my ability to let most things go and actively shrug off offense where ever I might find it, but I am making an exception for Lev Grossman and his ugly novel.

Let’s start with the story as a whole: Quentin’s life after Fillory and what he might do with. Four hundred plus pages of telling, telling, telling later with some random point of view switches and nonsensical demi-deus-ex-machinas. I kept waiting for the phoning it in quality to fade away, but it never did. Maybe it’s too pet peeve of me, but I cannot stand a story where the author clearly can’t decide what the primary narrative is. And Grossman one-upped his previous back-and-forth mish-mash of stories here. Quentin’s there, but then there are a bunch of flashbacks…

View original post 431 more words

Leave a Reply

