Goodreads review: Elysium by Jennifer Marie Brissett

ElysiumElysium by Jennifer Marie Brissett

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Was a DNF for me.

This book would have been better as a movie. Not that I’m recommending it for a film adaptation. It’s just that it was very hard to keep up with the names of the same “character” as they changed genders and lives. It’s wrong that an author would make the reader work so hard. The concept behind the book would have worked better visually. Artists need to know the medium that would best suit the story they’re trying to tell. Here, Brissett clearly did not.

Also, I skimmed to the very end and was able to grasp the entire concept/plot by its conclusion. I kind of feel like that wrapped it up for me. It was an interesting idea, but it shows that the story itself could have been short story material at best.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

