DNF The Humans by Matt Haig

Disclaimer: I attempted to read this book months ago and am just now writing about it.

Cover

The HumansThe Humans by Matt Haig

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I was willing to give this book a shot only because I had hoped it would put humans in a bad light (I had assumed it was supposed to be mirror in which to help us analyze our ways – I think I picked up the book because an environmentalist blog I follow mentioned it. Not that the book didn’t put up a mirror, it just wasn’t a clear enough reflection to keep me interested. I could tell it was going to romanticize the human race – despite our flaws – early on and I just don’t have the patience to flirt with such an idea anymore). Also, I think my “environmentalist” hopes for it went a bit too far. I don’t think Haig took the issues deep enough.

100 pages in, I found myself putting it down. I became bored with the pace of it and the cliches shoved in to make it more interesting (the alien having to deal with the man’s marital and family problems – not very original or inventive in my opinion).

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

