Redshirts and the Hugo

I’m so glad someone else said my thoughts for me. YOU ARE NOT ALONE

Cult of the New

Well, yesterday we learned that John Scalzi’s Redshirts has won the Hugo Award for best novel. I’ve read more than twenty books so far this year, and that was definitely the worst one. (In fact, it’s tied for the second-worst book since I started my blog, only beating out an artless ode to fascism.) I knew when I wrote my review that I was going against popular opinion, but it still baffles me how much some people like it. The people I’ve discussed it with generally found it light and amusing, and say they liked it because they also liked Star Trek. Fair enough – those elements were enough to get me through the first 75 pages or so, but even the people who enjoyed it don’t seem to be describing a Hugo-worthy novel.

If you’re curious, I stand by the complaints in my review. Scalzi tries…

View original post 543 more words

2 thoughts on “Redshirts and the Hugo

  1. Thanks, I’m glad you appreciated that. FYI, I added an update to the post since you reblogged it. I’m not sure if that affects your agreement, but it’s only fair to make sure you know 🙂

Leave a Reply

